Introducing Myself

Windy Hill Farm

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hay I'm new to this and I'm a woman so bear with me . I am trying to find help replacing a drive belt on my 60 inch zt hd ...Just wanted to know if I need to remove the clutch on this mower like I had to on an old White I used to work on .?

tbarnett

Threads
Do you have an owner's manual? If I remember correctly, your mower deck has spring loaded idler pulley arms which should not require removing the PTO clutch.

Windy Hill Farm

Forum Newbie
Threads
Thanks for the reply .I will have a chance to get a new belt and work on mower cause it's raining again . Manual doesn't mention removing clutch but it's going to be a tight squeeze to reroute belt ... .tensioner spring had also unhooked it's self . thanks again .DEB

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
No you don't have to remove anything other than unplug the wiring to the clutch.
But you will need some brute force to take the tension off the tensioning pulley.
Usually the tensioning pulley arm will have a 1/2" square hole punched into it.
If this is the case you use a long breaker bar in the hole to lever the tension pulley.
If not the it is a tight socket on the pulley mouning bolt and a long bar again.
It is not unheard of for me to have to resort to pushing them with my foot, some of those springs are really heavy.

Windy Hill Farm

Forum Newbie
Threads
No you don't have to remove anything other than unplug the wiring to the clutch.
But you will need some brute force to take the tension off the tensioning pulley.
Usually the tensioning pulley arm will have a 1/2" square hole punched into it.
If this is the case you use a long breaker bar in the hole to lever the tension pulley.
If not the it is a tight socket on the pulley mouning bolt and a long bar again.
It is not unheard of for me to have to resort to pushing them with my foot, some of those springs are really heavy.