Export thread

Engine won`t start after Winter break

C

cairnx

Hi all,

I have a "Rally" branded Ride on mower powered by a 12.5 HP OHV Briggs and Stratton engine model no. 219807 , type 0388 B1.

The mower is approx 9 years old and hasn`t missed a beat - until now!.

In short, after a winter break, I can not start the engine. There is a rapid "machine gun" clicking when I turn the key , but nothing else. There is also a feint smell of Sulphur in the air.

I am no expert , but have put in a new spark plug and recharged the battery, but to no avail. If anyone could help point me in the right direction I would be very grateful.

Thanks in advance

Steve

R

Rivets

To me it sounds like your battery is the problem. Probably have a bad cell and will not take a charge. Have it load tested if possible, or they to jump start it with a known good battery. If jump starting works, replace the battery.

C

cairnx

Thanks for that - I did try jump starting from a car, but not sure it worked - I hooked up the jump leads from my car to the mower , but did not start the car engine (think i read that it would be too much for the mower battery to handle?). Anyway, it made no difference at all, just made the same rapid clicking noise.
Should I try again but with the car engine running ? , or maybe disconnect the car battery from the car before jumping again , or did I do it right meaning it is not the battery which is at fault ?

Do you know what the rapid clicking noise is? - does it mean the starter is ok ?

Appreciate the help, I have little experience of engines (I`m sure you can tell!) so am very grateful for your assistance

best regards

Steve

B

bertsmobile1

remove the spark plug and try to rotate the engine by hand.
let us know what happens and what you find.

C

cairnx

I will do that in the morning (10.30pm here now) and report back - thanks.

M

mechanic mark

R

Rivets