Engine issue: runs for 3-4 seconds and dies

afollower

Threads
I'm not a mechanic but I like to learn so I can do things myself. Ran into a problem and hope you guys can help me out. I have a B/S Model 31Q777, Type 0110E1 motor on a 44inch Dixon Ram. Started as usual but when engaging the blades the motor began to surge up and down. Did this until I disengaged the blades then it would come out of it and run smooth. Did this for twenty minutes and then died. Now I can only get it to start and run for 3-4 seconds before dying. I took out the air filters, motor did the same thing. I unhooked the fuel line from the carb and turned the key to check the fuel pump, plenty of fuel. I noticed that the choke linkage was broken--never needed the choke before and I have had this mower for six years--so I held the choke while starting and it ran for much longer. So I decided to replace the choke assembly. Cleaned the carb up and replaced the choke assembly. Motor still just starts and runs for 3-4 seconds and dies. I pulled the float and checked it, guess what, it floats! I'm running out of ideas. I am going to pull the plug and check it to see if it is fouling out as it does burn a bit of oil (as well as an oil leak that I cannot find) and if I have constant spark but other than that I don't know what to do. I would appreciate any ideas or suggestions. Thanks fellas!

ILENGINE

Lawn Royalty
Top Poster Of Month
Threads
My thoughts would be dirty high speed jet in the carb, or sticky governor arm, or throttle linkage in carb.

Fish

Lawn Pro
Threads
Check the voltage to your carb solenoid, it should have 12+ volts in the crank and run position, sounds like it is just opening in the crank position now, which could indicate a failing keyswitch, maybe....

afollower

Threads
My thoughts would be dirty high speed jet in the carb, or sticky governor arm, or throttle linkage in carb.