Do you change your Hydraulic System Filt & Oil?

Abrahamm

Threads
Or have it done by the dealer?

I'm the proud new owner of a Toro MX5060 and the only thing maintenance-wise that causes me to gulp is this one.

Right now, I'm thinking I'm really glad I bought my ZTR from a dealer cuz I think I'll have him do this particular chore, though maybe I'm making more of it than it justifies. However, I'm no mechanic as my aptitude for anything more than very simple maintenance is poor. I've proven it more than once....

As one of Clint Eastwood's characters once stated: "A man's gotta know his limitations!" - and in my case, I'm not afraid to admit it. My mechanical limitations are vast!

So, do you do this chore of have it done?

P.S. One of the other reasons I'm scared to do this bit of maintenance comes straight out of the manual: "Failure to properly perform this procedure can result in IRREPARABLE damage to the transaxle drive system"

Ay Yi Yi!

possum

Threads
Well it looks pretty straight forward in the manual . Nice mower by the way. Since it does not have to be done for another 400 hours I see no reason to be bashful about having the service done at the dealer.

exotion

Lawn Addict
Threads
I have changed alot of them its really no harder than changing engine oil :/ drain hydro oil my scags filter is on the bottom so we just drain oil out the filter hole get the right size hydro filter from the dealer or local auto parts store make sure the old gasket came off with the old filter (i havent noticed before untill there was a puddle of hydro oil on my floor no two gaskets are not better than one) put on new filter like an oil filter and fill to proper level run the machine sometimes it takes a little moving around to get the oil in the lines be patient and keep it moving forward reverse itll work its way in. When your done and it feels back up to full speed turn it off check level and good to go.

Rivets

Lawn Royalty
Threads