Briggs vtwin intek 20hp running on one cylinder

davidsh

Forum Newbie
Threads
As the title says, I've and John Deere La110 with a v twin Briggs & stratton engine. I think its running on one cylinder. I should mention I'm not that experienced with engines.

Symptoms:
  • Low on power - bogs down when you engage the manual blade lever. After it warms up its less likely to bog down.
  • Thirsty on fuel - a lot more so than it was last season.
  • Noisy - although there's a crack in the exhaust so this could account for the noise.
  • If I disconnect the spark plug on the right hand cylinder, she wont start and flames/pops from the connected side. With left disconnected and right connected she fires up fine.
  • Valve cover on right hand side is hot to touch if you run from cold for a few mins. Left hand side is only barely warm.
What I've tried so far:
  • Replaced both spark plugs.
  • Replaced both ignition coils (I wasn't getting any reading off ohm meter from old ones)
  • Removed the valve cover on the right hand cylinder. Push rods are straight and rockers look to have correct amount of travel.
Someone suggested that it might be blockage in the fuel jets in the carburetor but I'm slow to go at that myself as it looks like a bit of a handful taking it apart. Just wondering if anyone out there has any other ideas what it could be before I give up?

Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks
David

Bertrrr

Threads
Pull your plugs and run a compression test , hot valve cover on one side might indicate a burnt exhaust valve
How was it running before this issue ? A little history on the machine will go a long way in trouble shooting what's goin on now. If you don't have a compression tester stick your finger into the spark plug hole and get an idea of one cylinder compared to the other.

Fish

Lawn Pro
Threads
Look at the valves on the other side.

davidsh

Forum Newbie
Threads
So I looked at the valves on the other side and they look ok too (to the best of my knowledge).