Beginner question - 2 fuel hoses on Briggs & Stratton engine?

jackmower

Forum Newbie
Threads
  • / Beginner question - 2 fuel hoses on Briggs & Stratton engine?
Hi

I recently came into posession of an old Jonsered ride on lawn mower with a Briggs & Stratton 289707-1179E1 engine.
The mower is in terrible shape and has lot's of problems running, but I've been having a great time handling these one by one and making the engine (almost) run. I have absolutely no experience woring with engines (I am a programmer by trade) but I'm having endless fund learning as I'm going.
I have, among other things, taken the carburetor apart and cleaned it and replaced parts in this and other places.
Some parts I couldn't get where I live, so I made them myself from old hoses and stuff.

Anyway, I now have the mower almost working. It runs and does not quit after a while which has been a big problem. I only have one problem left now - gas is seeping into the oil tank.
I have read a lot about this problem and I am now trying out possible solutions.
In this process one ting puzzles me - why does my engine have TWO hoses running from the fuel tank?
One of them goes to the carburetor - this makes sense.
The other one - fixed just next to the first one at the bottom of the fuel tank - goes to ... nowhere. It just hangs down from the fuel tank, fixed to nothing and not closed off or anything. As far as I can see no fuel drips from it, though I can't be 100% sure.

Does anybody know what that second hose is doing?
It feels like this might be a stupid question to ask, but it just puzzles me.
And I'm thinking there's a slight chance it has something to do with my gas-in-oil problem...

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
The second hose is the air vent
If air can not get in the fuel can not get out .
Some have charcoal canisters on the air line while others run it to the manifold so it is a closed loop .