Who knew a Briggs 3.5 would run without a Idle Mix Valve???

Jeff T

Threads
  • / Who knew a Briggs 3.5 would run without a Idle Mix Valve???
About a month ago I bought a used gas edger with a 3.5 Briggs. Took the seller a few pulls but it started. Once running it searched and searched. OK, needs a diaphragm. Pulled the carb, cleaned it, replaced the diaphragm. I'm no expert at these, but it started much easier, but still searched. I kept looking at the parts diagram. Tried it today and still ran like crap. Pulled it off and started looking at all the holes in the unit. Suddenly, there it was, a threaded hole with no idle mix valve.

Time to order some parts!! Or am I wrong??

Attachments

• Little Wonder Carb c.jpg
    Little Wonder Carb c.jpg
    330.4 KB · Views: 14
Last edited:

ILENGINE

Lawn Pro
Threads
I don't think that threaded hole is for a mix screw. the mix screw or in this case could be an air bleed screw is that brass straight slotted screw below the welch plug.

Jeff T

Threads
Doing more searching online, I believe you're right... That being said, I cannot get this engine to run right. Disassembled and cleaned the carb, new diaphragm and it still searches. Any suggestions???

Rivets

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Did you replace the carb to tank gasket? This setup likes to leak there. To test, start the engine and spray carb cleaner all the way around this mating area. Any changes in speed mean the gasket is leaking.

Jeff T

Threads
Did that test and it was fine.

Rivets

Lawn Royalty
Threads