Which Brand Zero Turn to Buy

magnum308

Threads
I am in the market for a zero turn mower deck 54" or bigger.

I have 5 acres, around 2 acres around the house and then the remainder (back block) 3 acres with some reasonable steep slopes and and can be a bit rough. So looking for advice on which is the best brand/make to do both lawn around the house and also the back block. Had a guy here (a commercial mower) with a less than 12 month old Hustler XD 54" but he broke an engine mount on my back block and said he won't mow that again. Never had that issue with others, one using a Gravely 48". But the guy with the Hustler, it's the second time he's broken an engine mount in its short life, previously on someone else's property. So I'm thinking it might be a Hustler issue not due my block.

Heard good things about Toro but aside from that I'm a novice. Had looked at Hustler at a farm show here (Darling Downs, Qld, Australia), but a bit weary of them now. Just want it as a "residential" mower to do my property, I'm not doing it commercially.

Oh, by the way I am in Queensland, Australia. So would appreciate some Aussie recommendations.

Last edited:

Hal12

Threads
Neither my snapper or the dixon (both 03') handle slopes that well. I read where none do on fairly steep hills. Has something to do with weight distrubtion. That being said I'd certainly want a model with good, close mechanical support. I did a chat on lowes the other day..wanted to know who services the mowers they sell. Didn't know...referred me to their warranty's dept where ever that is. I'm looking at a country clipper for next season. 48 inch cut..toggle steering. Store is 15 minutes from the house.

Lawn Addict
Threads
FWIW: Warranty work after big box store purchase would go to closest authorized dealer. And since it wasn't initally bought there, they will not be in a rush to get to it imo.

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Residential - Commercial is a design quality level