slow Snapper quantum xrm 6.5 hp

Michele3918

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hello everyone,
I have a slow Snapper quantum xrm 6.5 hp (10 years old), I can't seem to figure out the cause.
Perhaps some of you can shed some light on the subject and help me figure this out.
I've spent many week ends on this challenging project.
I'm no expert but I believe this is a great mower, It has run great since day one and still performs very well except for the speed problem. This issue started several months ago.
Here are the details.

Behavior:
The lawn mower moves too slow even at the highest gear selection. (6 positions)
I use to have to run behind it at that gear selection.
(Yes, I did that on a few occasions)
Basically, it moves as if it was set on the 3nd gear position when it was operating normally.

Troubleshooting steps:
1 Replace driven disc spring-Yes
2 Replace driven disc-Yes
3 Replace all belts-Yes
4 Replace clutch cable upper spring-Yes

Other failed attempts:
I glued some 60 grid sand paper on a stick and applied it on the drive disc with the mower running. I did that to give the drive disc some texture for better grip.
I also tried to select a lower gear just to position driven disc on another surface area. It still ran slower that it should have.

Thats all I can think of right at the moment.
Hope to get some tips soon.
Thanks,
Michele

jtk

Threads