Husqvarna axle question?

Imowmylawn

Threads
Hey forum! This is my first time posting here and I'm looking forward to all the knowladge you all have to give :) I have a husqvarna lawn tractor, 56" deck 25hp kholer engine and I noticed that if i push the gas...lever down fastish, I hear a heavy metal sound, it's almost like if you were to drop a brick on to another brick and then have one slide off...it comes from the rear. I've heard that the rear axle can't handle the torque that this engine puts out and the rear axle will break around 50 hours...which is where I am...the sound has been here since day one. I can't remember if I heard it on my old murray cause it died years ago. So is this a normal thing? Or should I be worried? Also if I ease on to the throttle (which is hard for me as I have a lead foot......or......hand...) it doesn't happen, and if i spin tires on the rocks it doesn't happen.

I hope you all can help me have some peace of mind as I also pull a trailer sometimes and wouldn't like to hear my axle is too weak :)

Thanks in advance!

KennyV

Lawn Pro
Threads
Hello & WELCOME to LMF...

You can overload almost any axle, even heavy equipment used in earth-moving will have it's limits.
Jack the rear of your tractor up... and check the axle bearings for any 'excessive' play... if the bushing/bearing is failing, it will be loose & will put quite a bind on the rotating axle... It is better to replace worn parts before they cause associated pieces to fail... :smile:KennyV

Imowmylawn

Threads
Hello & WELCOME to LMF...

You can overload almost any axle, even heavy equipment used in earth-moving will have it's limits.
Jack the rear of your tractor up... and check the axle bearings for any 'excessive' play... if the bushing/bearing is failing, it will be loose & will put quite a bind on the rotating axle... It is better to replace worn parts before they cause associated pieces to fail... :smile:KennyV