Honda GCV160 No Start

hppants

Forum Newbie
Threads
Greetings:

(I searched before I posted)

Honda GCV160 motor won't start. I'm not a mechanical genius, but I've "turned wrenches" for a long time. This is what I've done/know:

1. Won't run on carb fluid or starting fluid.
2. Cleaned carb thoroughly (trust me, that ain't it)
3. has what I consider to be good strong fire at spark plug.
4. Motor has no compression using tester.
5. Pulled cam cover, ZERO valve clearance on exhaust valve (compression release working?) About 0.006" on intake.
6. Can't find timing marks or instructions on how to check time, check flywheel key.

Motor is on a 3 year old pressure washer that otherwise is perfect for me. I'd appreciate any advice you can offer.

Chris Parman

Threads
Hello hppants: Set the valve lash to the following.

Intake valve lash: (0.006 +/- .002 inch)
Exhaust valve lash: (0.008 +/- .002 inch)

Then perform another compression test and report back. Here is a procedure to follow as well.

Attachments

• GCV135_160E_English_1.pdf
    438.2 KB · Views: 24

hppants

Forum Newbie
Threads
I'm cross posting information to this thread from another - in the hopes of getting help.

Is it possible that the exhaust valve "adjusted itself" to zero clearance? I've never heard of that happening on a "screw and nut" style of valve train. NO ONE has been into this motor (I bought it new) before.

Exhaust has ZERO clearance now.

Looking at it from the top (flywheel), the cam pully has the decompression "rod" in the right most position in the slot. I can easily slide it to the left, and if I let it go, it will slide (very slowly) on its own to the right. If I hold the rod in the left side of the slot, and turn the motor, I don't develop any clearnance in the exhaust valve. That is concerning to me. If the exhaust valve won't seat, I'll never get compression.

I haven't pulled the flywheel to see if the key is sheared.

(scratching my head)

Thoughts?

Thanks in advance.

Honda Tech