High Current Draw, 20Amp Fuse Blowing & Smoked LED Headlight

CaptnDanLKW

Forum Newbie
Threads
  • / High Current Draw, 20Amp Fuse Blowing & Smoked LED Headlight
Brief history. 2004 Troy-bilt Super Bronco Kohler Courage 19 Engine. VERY well taken care of, but still had my share of issues. I've always been fairly capable, well read and methodical in all I do but I'm not an expert. Worked out good for me so far.
2 seasons ago - Rebuilt transaxle (not the diff) just the innards, seals and bearings.
This season, oil leak from head gasket, top case (4 screws backed themselves out, one hitting the flywheel - a well known issues) and valve cover. No case damage. So I dismantled, cleaned / soaked (shiny head and valves - like brand new) rebuilt (put in a brand new carb - didn't bother cleaning & servicing). Full serving kit. First turn of the key she ran like new.

The past two time she was hard to start and keep running. Once warmed up it was fine, so I was figuring a carb adjustment might be needed. Though at idle the engine started hunting too.

Now for the problem.
This evening, I could not get it started. Lots of cranking, adjusting choke and throttle positions, nothing. Check spark plug, fuel lines, all seemed good. Finally though to give it a shot of carb cleaner and got it to sputter to a start (barely) while adjusting the throttle. Lots of stalls, but multiple restarts and about a minute I got it running steady but noticed the ammeter pegged, then it cut out - 20amp fuse popped.
Replaced fuse, got it started (difficult again) but while messing with the throttle again, noticed the ammeter current draw decreased with engine speed (Low engine speed still had a higher draw than I'm used to - but I was cranking the starter motor A LOT so I thought the battery could be weak).