Expert Advice

Saito2

Forum Newbie
Threads
I have a Grasshopper G2 Model 727K2 with a Kohler CH740S engine. The electric PTO clutch went out and I purchased a new clutch. I asked a local mechanic to replace for me. After removing the old clutch from crankshaft, he declare the crankshaft was ruined because the old clutch bearings wore a groove in crankshaft. I am no mechanic, but the groove he is referring to seems to have been machined into crank. Also when I examined the old clutch, I see nothing inside that could have cut a groove in the crankshaft. Can anyone help clear this up for me. I do not want to buy a new engine for the old mower. Thanks in advance.

Rivets

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Could be, but I’d like to see the shaft and clutch before calling any one a liar. Most clutches are keyed to the shaft and the bearing is inside the clutch. I would get a second opinion before proceeding.

Saito2

Forum Newbie
Threads
Could be, but I’d like to see the shaft and clutch before calling any one a liar. Most clutches are keyed to the shaft and the bearing is inside the clutch. I would get a second opinion before proceeding.

Saito2

Forum Newbie
Threads
I have tried to attach a picture but keep getting message file too large. I resized all the way down to thumbnail and still too large.

PTmowerMech

Lawn Addict
Threads
I have tried to attach a picture but keep getting message file too large. I resized all the way down to thumbnail and still too large.
I resize my pics with the Window's Paint program.

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Open the photos in any photo app you like
Hit the resize and change it to 10" x 8"
Then go down a bit and change the RESOULTION to 72 dpi .
If you don't do that many of them just change the display size and not the actual file size.
If it has more options then JPEG for file type as it uses about 1/3 the space that RAW format does
ANd a quality of 75% is fine for viewing on a screen.

PTmowerMech

Lawn Addict
Threads