BG55 Blower bogging down/dying

mlauson1

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hi. I have a Stihl BG55 that is bogging down as soon as I hit the throttle. It will barely rev up and then die. I have replaced the spark plug, carb, fuel filter, air filter and fuel lines (dumped old fuel and added new). I've also checked the spark arrestor and verified that it isn't clogged. What could this problem be? Crank seal? I feel like I'm missing something obvious.

Fish

Lawn Pro
Threads
Have you tried richening up the mixture screws?

PTmowerMech

Lawn Addict
Threads
With a small screw driver, open the low idle screw 1/8 turn. Give the trigger a quick squeeze and release.
I'm not an expert on this, but in small increments like this should solve your problem.
Of course if you have limiters on those H and L screws, you may not be able to adjust it to the best of its ability.
Remember, small increments.
And as I learned today, after each turn, give it about 15 seconds between turns, before squeezing the trigger.

Scrubcadet10

Staff member
Threads
Might need to purchase one those special tool kits on amazon if the mixture screws are those weird heads.

Hammermechanicman

Lawn Addict
Threads
Just to be sure remove the spark arrestor and run it. Better?
Next remove the 2 screws that hold the muffler on and look at the piston. Is there any scoring or is it perfectly smooth?
If piston is good start it with out the muffler. Will it rev up?
If it still runs the same put muffler back on. At this point you should have good compression, clear exhaust. That leaves air fuel delivery or primary compression. Disconnect fuel line from carb and start engine and let it idle till stops. Hold throttle wide open a spray a small amount of flammable carb cleaner or premix into carb and try to start. It should fire up strong for a couple seconds. If it doesn't rev up you have a primary compression or possibly a secondary compression issue assuming you have good spark. Check spark with a spark gap tester to be sure.