Another newb looking for recommendations

garciawork

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hello all, riding mower newbie here. Moving the family from a tiny lot in Idaho to an acre in Tennessee next month. So, I am going to want a riding mower. Zero turn sounds great, but one specific duty we would like, is the ability to throw on a snow plow for our long driveway, and possibly move some dirt around the yard, so those are, unfortunately, out.

The lot, it s basically flat, although technically it is on a slight grade the whole time, but really, pretty flat. As of now, no obstacles save... one tree I believe. We will plant a few for sure, and add a playset, but we will figure something out for those areas. I did attach a screenshot of the street view of the lot, in case that isn't really flat, although it is hard to tell.

So, I want a good mower. Been researching for days, and have come down to... a few. The Cub Cadet XT2 LX46, John Deere S240 42 or 48, X350 42 or 48, and the Husqvarna TS 242/48XD. Not sure on deck size, I have heard that 42's at times cut better, but 48's are faster. Also, plan to stick with the Kawasaki engine as I have had them on motorcycles and they are great.

I like the CC, but I have heard a lot of people not happy with the quality in recent years. Not sure if that is something to worry about in my usage case though, mild as it is.

JD, both models have the same tranny and engine, I don't care about the different lift methods, either works. The extra warranty is nice on the X350, and I am sure the build quality is a little nicer, but not sure that is worth the extra money at this point. I do like green, and i like that they are built in TN, where I am moving.

The Husqvarna's are interesting, they have some great features, but again, as with the CC's, they seem to have more reliability questions.

As it stands, I am open to any of those above, but haven't been able to firmly land on one yet.

Appreciate any thoughts or advice!

mechanic mark

Lawn Pro