A case study Craftsman YT4500

BruceTX

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hello, I am a newbie to this forum. I need help figuring out my YT4500's issues. There seems to be multiple issues with this mower. I was given this mower after the previous owner ripped a hanger bracket off of the mower deck while "bush hogging" with it. As far as I new the motor ran fine at that time. Fast forward approximately 3 years later and I have the mower. It hadn't been run during the 3 years. I welded on a new bracket and replaced a missing link and the drive belt (pricey). When I went to start it up the first trouble started but the mower didn't. I put a carb kit into it and the mower will now start reliably cold. It will not start when hot. Last time this happened I put a spare plug on the plug wire and grounded it on the engine block. I did not see a spark. The battery had 12.77 V at this time but the mower cranked slow like a dead battery.

When cutting I managed to high center the mower and remembered I hadn't aired up the dry rotted tires so I went back to do this and the mower cut due to the set safety switch, I wasn't fast enough. I took less than a minute to get the air hose and when I turned back to the mower it had belched oil all over. This is a mystery to me. What caused this? I did note the dipstick was loose, pretty sure it had been ok.

The last issue is the pto switch s not engaging the blades. The pto switch, and the ignition switch, check out with a meter. On one of the first few starts the electric clutch had jumped off of its limit hook and tore the wire harness loose. I replaced the wires and get nothing. I checked the electric clutch with a separate 12v supply and it does engage. I bypassed the pto and was able to mow a little before the issue mentioned above.

I was able to check voltage while cranking and it dropped to ~6V.

I suspect the battery is on its last legs because after 1 maybe 2 failed start attempts it needs recharging. It is a 360 CCA battery.