2022 Simplicity Regent or Broadmoor

pegken

Threads
Hello, new member here and I need your advice. I am looking at the 38" Regent or 44" Broadmoor mower for my 1/2 acre lawn next spring. I am a total rookie at a riding mower as I've always used a push mower for my lawn. But as I've gotten older now (68) cutting the lawn has gotten to be a bit more of a chore for me especially on those super hot summer days and during the fall with all the leaves to deal with.

I kind of go back and forth on which model is best for my needs. The 38 seems like a perfect size for my lawn yet I've read that it has the K46 transmission on it and that it may not be the best in reliability? Plus the fact that the Regent line, from what I've read, isn't the best for grass or leaf bagging. The Broadmoor on the other hand seems like it has a little more muscle to it, K57 trans. and maybe a better bagging system. But maybe it's a bit of overkill for my lawn??

My lawn is fairly flat with no major hills or low areas to mow. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!! Cost wouldn't be a factor in my decision.

Thanks again, glad I found this site!!

Ken

mechanic mark

Lawn Pro
Threads
I would stay away from Regent. Purchase a tractor from a Dealer not big box store & take your time researching & then go try it out operating all controls. Let us know which tractor you choose, thanks, Mark

Last edited:

Rivets

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Agree with Mark, Regent should work fine based on your description. As he said go through a dealership. If you are worried about bagging, take a look at the turbo bagging system.

pegken

Threads
Sounds good, thanks.

bkeller500

Threads