19 hp Kawasaki charging 18v

gimmee

Forum Newbie
Threads
what is causing my mower to over charge?

Rivets

Lawn Royalty
Threads
You will get a lot more response if you would give us more info. We don't know engine model, alternator size, type of unit it is on, nothing. What do you want for us, guesses?

gimmee

Forum Newbie
Threads
I GUESS...:)
I don`t know the model number, it is on a Bob Cat ZTR mower, no alternator that I have seen. I was told it charges from stator.
It will run fine without the regulator plugged in, it shows 6.75 volts on the wire coming from underneath the magneto when the wire is unplugged, with the regulator plugged in it shows 18 volts at the battery terminals when tester is ground to ground and positive to positive.
I will get the model number and any other number I can find and list it,
This is my first time on the site and I do ask for forgiveness for my lack of information.
Thanks for your time and help.

Rivets

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Not a problem. I know no alternator. Stator yes. Does the regulator have three wires attached? If it does, the outside ones are AC output from the stator which means you must test them on the AC scale across the two leads. If you have between 24-28V AC the stator is good. The center one would be DC regulated. When you tested it did you hook it up on the right scale? Can you test the regulator by attaching the center terminal + lead on meter - lead on -of the battery. The regulator changes the AC voltage to DC. If your DC voltage is between 13-14.8V DC the regulator is good. The reason I posted the way I did is people forget that we cannot help without the poster becoming our eyes and tells us exactly what they have and see. Most of the good mechanics on this forum have worked on a minimum of 250 different engines. Sorry for being a little rough.

gimmee

Forum Newbie
Threads