GXV 140 Leaking oil....BAD!

inky

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hi all! New guy here and have a problem. I have a Honda Masters HR 215 KHXA, absolutely love how this thing runs and cuts however an oil leak has developed that dang near empties all the oil in one cutting! Been stubbornly filling as needed but is geting ridiculous. Seems to be coming from the gasket between the cylinder and the oil pan, directly under the clinder head (not the head gasket) . Have looked at some parts diagrams and see the gasket needed but also see something called a Pipe oil defense (Honda code 182502). Where this is shown on the diagram is right where the leak is. What is this part and will it likely need to be changed as well? Anyone have any experience with this? If it helps here's all the info from the mower-
HR215KHXA
Serial # MZAM-6297388
Engine family 2HNXS 1351AL
Thanks in advance for any help or info!

redfish9

Threads
I'm taking a shot in the dark here but maybe there a o ring on the bottom of the tube.If you clean it real good and start it you will see exactly where it coming from

inky

Forum Newbie
Threads
Thanks red! Cleaned it up real good and can definately see oil spurting out the front of the oil pan gasket. Yes, I said spurting! Not just a seep. This oil stop defense must be internal, nothing on the outside of the engine, or possibly my particular engine doesn't have this part?

redfish9

Threads
hope it works good after repair

Ida-Boy

Threads
I have the same engine, on an HR215SXA a commercial model about 20 years old. I have cleaned and replaced the o ring at the bottom of the tube and I found mine is leaking under the flywheel. It has to get warm before it starts to leak. I am going to pick up the part as the local shop says I should be able to pull the flywheel and replace it without a tear down.
I will post back on my results.

robert@honda

Lawn Addict
Threads