Intro and Honda rear adjuster replacement

Bushite

Forum Newbie
Threads
Greetings, I'm a retired engineer and a long time yard mower. I came upon this forum looking for help with the replacement of the rear wheel adjuster on a Honda HRR216 self propelled mower. When it was all over I thought I'd write it up so the next person would at least have an idea what they were in for. So here goes...

Changing the rear wheel height adjustment lever on a Honda HRR216.

First it will help if you have an area where you can lay out the parts as you remove them. Paper underneath that you can jot notes on is great also. Be sure to mark which side of the gear faces out. There is a dot on one of the teeth. Dot goes toward the inside on the left and outside on the right. Failure to do so will result in an immoveable brick with an engine attached. A good pair of snap ring pliers is a must for this. And remember, turning a gas tank and oil reservoir on the side will have some consequences.

I wish I’d taken pics as I went, but I didn’t. I kept thinking the next thing I remove will make it happen, but it didn’t. So words will have to suffice. It’s a good idea to take a picture of the underside to remember where all of the fairings go.

First remove all of the housing fairings. It will make access much easier and I’m not sure there is a way to do it without pulling them all. The one pic I did take shows how it will look to get the access you need.

After you remove the wheels, drive gears, and backing plate, disconnect the spring that attaches to the gearbox. BE CAREFULL!! This spring is a very powerful one and it will snap back at you. Then remove the flanged pillow block that the drive shaft goes through on the underside of the deck, on the left side (adjuster side). Let it slide down toward the gear box. This will allow you to drop the axle and have clearance to slide the plates that are joined with the welded rod out of the way.