Engaging the blade drive clutch at full speed

GMJim

Threads
Hello all
I finally made a decision to buy a S240 this spring and it's been a good machine so far. I only have about 6 hours on it but have a concern regarding the electric clutch blade engagement. The manual says to engage the blade drive while at full engine speed. Would it not be better and less stress on all the parts to engage the blades at idle or just off idle then increase engine speed? I'm a mechanic by trade and not a JD expert but engaging the clutch at full RPM feels pretty violent.
Comments appreciated.
Jim

tom3

Lawn Addict
Threads
With my old L130 if I were to engage that blade clutch at governed speed it would probably yank the deck out from under the machine, or at least snap the belt. I posted a question on here a while back about adjusting the clutch but got no response. Some clutches do have a clearance adjustment but I usually just idle the engine down to engage, haven't hurt anything yet and the belt lasts a good while. Sure never slips in high grass though.

D

Deleted member 97405

With my old L130 if I were to engage that blade clutch at governed speed it would probably yank the deck out from under the machine, or at least snap the belt. I posted a question on here a while back about adjusting the clutch but got no response. Some clutches do have a clearance adjustment but I usually just idle the engine down to engage, haven't hurt anything yet and the belt lasts a good while. Sure never slips in high grass though.