Briggs and Stratton 20HP Opposed Twin Crankshaft and Pistion Journals have scoring

NickCikovic

Forum Newbie
Threads
  • / Briggs and Stratton 20HP Opposed Twin Crankshaft and Pistion Journals have scoring
I’m doing a full restore on my Briggs and Stratton 20HP Opposed Twin. While taking the engine apart entirely for cleaning, I noticed the Crankshaft and Piston Journals have minor scoring. They are only visible scratches, and they do not catch on my fingernails. This is my first attempt at a full restore on any engine, and all I need to know is if these Piston Journals And Crankshaft can be cleaned with Emory Cloth, or if they need to be replaced. Any help will be deeply appreciated. Thanks.

Attachments

• 2FCBBF28-0D15-476B-9758-64546E76AA23.jpg
    2FCBBF28-0D15-476B-9758-64546E76AA23.jpg
    153.7 KB · Views: 21
  • 30EFC84D-5BA8-4BE5-B70F-4A3B7555A3D2.jpg
    30EFC84D-5BA8-4BE5-B70F-4A3B7555A3D2.jpg
    80.7 KB · Views: 14
  • 41F9E0D5-01FE-455F-8AB7-7E2E16AFF11D.jpg
    41F9E0D5-01FE-455F-8AB7-7E2E16AFF11D.jpg
    114.6 KB · Views: 18

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
  • / Briggs and Stratton 20HP Opposed Twin Crankshaft and Pistion Journals have scoring
The crank will polish up with some steel wool or Brasso or 1600 wet & dry used wet.
Emery is way too rough.
As for the rods, get new ones, they are cheap and never worth playing with.
By the time they get crack tested &/or x-rayed you have exceeded the replacement cost , let alone a shut & Cut to bring the rod back into proper specs.

Fish

Lawn Pro
Threads
Buff the crankshaft, replace the rods..

If they are starting to paste aluminum on the crank, that is.

cpurvis

Lawn Addict
Threads
How many more hours do you intend to put on this engine? If the answer is "not many" I'd just put it back together as-is. Anything you do with emery cloth will only make the crank and rods out-of-round with more clearance.

If it's going to be put back into regular service, I'd replace them.

Romore

Threads