Noob Here--

SF_LawnWorld

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hello-- Noob Here---

Just moved from California to Georgia, and have a bit of lawn to mow. Bought the Hustler Fastrak 60". On the first mow, it took from 9:30 am to 5:30 pm to finish the job. I was pretty happy with the result, setting the mow height at 3.5". However, it may need to be set lower because a week later, it was looking like it needed another go.

My question to the more experienced guys that know these mowers is, how hard can you run them. Sometime the mulch will build up pretty good, and I will slow down quite a bit so as not to bog the engine down too much. Some of the ground is covered in very thick and tall lake tule reeds and such. But I also have a LOT of grass and the mower will run for several hours at a time, including some pretty steep mounds.

Are these units tough enough to run hard?

Scrubcadet10

Staff member
Threads
i dont own a hustler but maybe a few of these points will help...

Run it as long as you need to, i would keep an eye on the deck if alot of mulch gets up around the pulleys heat may start a fire, but thats mostly with dead or dry grass.
Keep an eye on your hours change engine oil accordingly along with air filter, and if the spindles are greasable grease them every few mowings.
And dont get too hot yourself, if you take a brake let the mower idle while you cool off.
And keep your blades sharp/replaced, usually replace them And the deck belt every season. Thats what i do. Owners manual should specify it.

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Grass is a funny thing.
The taller you cut it the faster it grows because there is more surface area on each blade in the sunlight.
This means that in some growing areas it will need to be cut every couple of days to keep it looking like a green carpet

However if you cut lower then the different rate of growth will become apparent and the grass will look patchy with areas that will be twice the height of other parts.