Help me pick a ZTR! 1 acre, very thick lawn, looking for best QOC possible!

d5coupe

Forum Newbie
Threads
  • / Help me pick a ZTR! 1 acre, very thick lawn, looking for best QOC possible!
OK, so I currently have a 2001 MTD 38" tractor. Gives me an OK cut but cannot mulch (without making a huge mess), and bagger always getting clogged. Takes 2 hours, and turning is a bitch, trimming beds impossible so alot of time with trimmer and blower also.

I've had enough... time for an upgrade. Help me pros! I am a pro-sumer. I like to buy high end and take care of it so it lasts as long as possible. Primarily looking for QOC and time savings. This takes me to Zero-Turn. Cannot justify over $5k for a lawn mower...only doing my lawn for the April-October season.

I am limited by a 4' gate..... so I think I am stuck on 42" deck; otherwise I would love bigger.

I have a power equipment close to home. He recommended Toro SS4200. My research begins here. I have looked at basically everything from Cub Cadet low end to Grasshopper high end. I find myself (limited by 42" deck) always with the highest-residential or lowest-commerical models.

I have narrowed it down to a few:
Toro MX4250 - smaller wheels and GT-2200 hydros
Hustler Raptor SD - hear alot of complaints about broken bolts/thrown belts & clogged chute
ExMark Radius E series - very expensive, very heavy,

What about the SWX4250, now discontinued - does it pay to hunt down an old model with steering wheel?
I really wish the Toro came with Serviceable GT-2800 hydros like the others I am looking at.

What do you guys recommend????

Gravely, BobCat, Dixie - no local dealer

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
A Walker.
Even a used Walker.
Best cut and best bagging system on the market.
Anything else is a very looooog way behind.
If your yard is rough get the 4 wheeled one, if your yard is reasonably flat get a 3 wheeled one which will turn 360 in it's own length.