Briggs & Stratton OHV 500E series surge and or flutter

Tired not retired

Forum Newbie
Threads
  • / Briggs & Stratton OHV 500E series surge and or flutter
Hello all. This is the first time I have joined any forum. Looks very interesting. I am a 40 yr mechanic and yet I am just about bald from scratching my head on this Briggs OHV 500E series engine. It is a model 9P602-0076-F1. Has a pretty good surge. Prime it 2 or 3 times and start right up. Cleaned Fuel tank and made sure screen in tank was clean, replaced fuel line, disassembled carb. completely, inspected and cleaned, changed oil making sure it was at correct level, replaced o-ring on intake pipe at cyl. head. Runs the same. Ordered a new carb. and installed. Seem to help the surge a little but it is still there. It does run great and starts easy but there has to be something causing that annoying surge. I wondered if maybe valve adjustment may be the problem. Looked on line for valve clearance and found 3 or 4 different answers. I looked at Briggs chart and does not show 9P600 under OHV single cyl.. This is the first 500E series for me so is there any common characteristics known on this particular engine? Would anyone else like to scratch their head on this one? Thanks for any advice.:confused2:

primerbulb120

Threads
I've had a couple of these that still surged with a 100% clean carburetor. I use a micro drill bit to very slightly enlarge the main jet. They run perfect after that.

Harbor Freight sells a cheap set of micro drill bits. They like to snap off inside the jet because they're so brittle, so I always drill the jet with the drill in reverse. It still drills, but the bit doesn't bite in and break.

tom3

Lawn Addict
Threads