first zero turn. Looking at gravely zt xl 42/Ariens ikon xl 42

mikeroc

Forum Newbie
Threads
  • / first zero turn. Looking at gravely zt xl 42/Ariens ikon xl 42
I have never owned or ridden a zero turn. My yard is around 1/2 acre and I mow from April to December. I have been using a 22" push mower. Getting older and want something quick and easy. I'm looking for those who own this machine, those who think there's a better mower in the 42" cut to give there opinion. I have been researching mowers for a month. Gravely specifications are as follows. Kohler 7000 pro 725 cc with smart choke or Kawasaki fr 726cc. zt2800 transmission, fab deck 10-gauge, 3 blades, and weighs 661 lbs. I often look at the weight to help me determine how well made something is. This mower in this residential model is one of the heaviest. There are some commercial 36" models that weigh more with better components but $1500 to $2500 more. I am a mechanic so I can fix anything that breaks. After tax this mower was quoted at $4,100 kohler + $150 for the kow. Ariens model is Identical from what I see. Thanks for reading.

Darryl G

Lawn Addict
Threads
Not familiar with these mowers but personally I'd shell out the extra $ for the Kawi engine - I always do.

RajunCajun

Threads
A friend of mine purchased a Hustler Raptor SD 48” w/ Kawasaki. Available Kolhler and 42” also.(all Hydro 2800s)
$3700+taxView attachment 42720

I have a Snapper 360Z 25hp/52” w/Briggs, and HydroGear2800 $3699+ tax. I happy with.

Fish

Lawn Pro
Threads
Gravely and Ariens are the same company.
One you go to a ZTR, you will never go back.

mikeroc

Forum Newbie
Threads