Repairs HRR2169VYA repair help(My first time)

mytmouse

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hi everyone!

As you can tell by my nonexistent post count, I’m new here! :wink: I was hoping that I could get a little help from you guys to make sure I’m going about things in the right manner. First things first, I have NO experience with small engines at all! I’ve done stuff on my cars. Change oil, spark plugs, starters, brakes and rotors, and regular maintenance stuff but nothing with any lawn mowers. Ok now we have that out the way… LOL

I recently bought a Honda HRR2169VYA off Craigslist for $25. I always hear such good things about the cut of the Hondas and I figured this would be the only way I could get one and not get cussed out by the wife. :laughing: The guy used it for his business and says it hasn’t run in a year and just sat. It's definitely not pretty, but I figured, it can’t be that bad and decided to give it a go. So The first things I did were:

- Changed the spark plug
- Changed the oil
- Drained the old gas from the tank/refilled with non-ethanol gas and some seafoam
- Bought/installed new gaskets(after I cleaned the carb)