Kohler CH20S

cbladel

Forum Newbie
Threads
Although this motor is not on a lawn mower I do have this same engine but runs fine. I am not a mechanic what so ever so I am sorry if this is confusing.

I have a Kohler model CH20S on a welding machine I recently purchased. The fuel pump went out on the valve cover. Everything was fine as far as engine operation until it went out. I ordered a brand new valve cover and fuel pump from the internet, recieved it in the mail, installed it the same way the old one was removed. Now when I start the motor, having to use the choke, it will run full RPM's for a moment, then try to die. I take the choke off it will run for just a second. If i can pull the choke before it dies i can usually keep it running while working the choke in and out. If i put it on low idle it will immediately die, but will at least run pretty crappy on high idle.

I spoke with the neighborhood drug induced small engine mechanic and he suggested the pump pushing to much fuel. He doesn't have a shop of his own and he insist of coming to my house to fix it for me. I value my property and all my belongings to much to just let anybody work on my stuff. I've already taken the carb off and cleaned it, it looked fine. I've changed the spark plugs hoping maybe the new pump just fouled the old ones. I am out of ideas. any suggestions would be great. Thank you all for any help you can give.

Attachments

• Image-1.jpg
    Image-1.jpg
    99.4 KB · Views: 2

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
So you have the mechanical pump integral with the left rocker cover ?
Are you sure you have it hooked up right way round ?
Check by cranking the engine with the carb end of the hose higher than the carb,
Should shoot fuel at least 2" higher than the height of the carb inlet.
After that it sounds like time for a rebuild kit in the carb.
The single barrel carb is prone to hardening of the float which will develop a crack thus no longer float.