OEM Manual Torque Spec Question

1RB2534

Threads
Need some input here. Was looking in my Kawasaki OEM manual for the FC420V flywheel nut torque specs. Now admittedly I'm just a shade tree mechanic but I have read a few torque specs over the yrs but never recall one written like this.

As shown in attached pic the Flywheel Nut for FC420V is listed as 137 N~m (101 lbf~ft) I've substituted an ~ for the mid height dot shown in pic.
Now I know what NM (newton meter) is and I know what ft lbs (and inch lbs) are. And the NM conversion shows 101 x 1.35582 = very close to 137. So I know it's saying 101 ft lbs.

But what's the technical logic in writing lb ft as lbf~ft. In other words why the extra ~ft? It almost looked to me like they meant ft lbs times ft till I did the conversion.

I'm guessing this logic is tied to the other inch lb specs where in they are written as lbf~in which is even more confusing to me. Anyhow I guess this is how metric folks write their stuff but I don't ever recall seeing this way before. Maybe I'm getting senile at my age.

Attachments

• Torque Specs.JPG
    Torque Specs.JPG
    135 KB · Views: 8

Boobala

Lawn Pro
Threads
You can always call a Dealer or Kawasaki Support ( or on-line) ....

Ronno6

Lawn Addict
Threads
I would have to believe that the "extra" f is intended to mean "force"
lbforce.. but, that is just supposition on my part.
Remember, these manuals are written in Japanese and then translated..........not always a straight forward process.

1RB2534

Threads
I would have to believe that the "extra" f is intended to mean "force"
lbforce.. but, that is just supposition on my part.
Remember, these manuals are written in Japanese and then translated..........not always a straight forward process.

Thanks, that's probably it, the software translation went a bit south. They aren't 100% yet I surmise what with the Ascii ambiguities. Anyhows was just wondering if there was some sort of OEM jargon I had missed in the equation.

Ronno6