FRUSTRATED dealer problems (valve seats)

mrrrkva

Forum Newbie
Threads
I am NEW to Dixie chopper. BUt after some research I wanted the "fast" one. I found a 72" xt3200 with only 400 hours. It ran well, I cut 5 acres QUICKLY. Dixie chopper dealer talked me into a full service to look her over. Quoted me about $300................. Well $950 later, this is what he did...... Changed Motor oil, and hydraulic fluid, 2 hydraulic filters, engine filter and amsoil bypass filter. I told him NOT to sharpen blades............. he REPLACED them.... (kinda mad) still mowing a rock field..... He did replace 2 deck pulleys...... I had ONE front tire going down and he RELPACED both...... WHY??? He did grease all the fittings.... HE DIDNT Replace the GAS filter. He adjusted valves and replaced the 2 spark plugs. Keep in mind it ran GREAT I got it back... It ran for 6 minutes........ had NO power.... barely made it up hills that it BLEW by before I took it in............. Took it back.... he is saying the valve seats are bad. And now I need new cylinder head. My questions....... if he adjusted the valves incorrectly, did this cause the valve seats to fail? And would it take 6 hours to do the service I listed above..... and would you guys do BOTH cylinder heads while I am in there. I LOVED this mower BEFORE I took it into him.......... I should of serviced it myself. More info it is the generac 32 hp. made in 2004.

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Yes the quoted time is more than reasonable for the work done.
And the work done is not unreasonable for a 2nd hand mower of unknown history.

If the engine is running at full speed I would suggest he has not purged all of the air out of the hydraulic system.

And no, valve adjustments do not cause valve seats to fail.
Valve seats fail for one reason & one reason only ,,,,,, overheating.
Overheating is only caused by lack of airflow around the engine, excessive time on low idle or running way too lean.