QUestion about transmatic drive/transmission etc

2stroke1971

Threads
Ive got an older MTD with the transmatic drive system. 14.5 briggs IC engine. Bought it cheap and got it running. Would not drive though. I went through the "reset" procedure as far as the instructions on the mower hood, no change.

It made some banging noises in gear at one point. And after going through the reset, it actually did "Catch" and lurch forward and move a bit, then I hit the brake pedal to stop it. couldnt get it to move again. For what its worth, I am an industrial mechanic.

It came with a full set of new belts. Tonight, I watched a video about how the transmatic system works and I went and pulled the covers to check mine out.

The belts there are not horrible, not broken anyway. The deck belts are sloppy, but to my disapointment the belt that went back to the differential looked ok to me.

I pulled the belt to the diff. off and I was able to spin the pulley on top of the diff freely with my hand around and around, no drive action so to speak, no meshing, no trying to spin the rear wheels.
Does this mean the diff is bad? , is there any type of centrigugal action on the diff, that is to say does that pulley have to be spinning at some minimum RPM to make anything happen or is this thing just done? OR is there a definitive way to test the diff?

Thanks in advance for any input!!!!

Boobala

Lawn Pro
Threads
I'm thinking you might have a variable speed pulley type transaxle with a "variator" when you step on the forward pedal harder, it goes faster, in any case get under the mower and see if you can see a data-or ID sticker and does your mower have a setup similar to the enclosed pic.....

DSCN1571 (Medium).JPG ... IMG_0537.jpg ..... click to enlarge

2stroke1971

Threads