Repairs Electrical Problem?

errn12

Forum Newbie
Threads
First, let me say I am not a mechanic nor am I very mechanically inclined.
I recently replaced the blade bearing assemblies (2) on my mower deck. I have no idea what they are called but it is the piece that the pulley wheel attaches to on one end and the blade on the other. Once I got the mower back together, it would not crank--not even a sound. I thought maybe my 2 yr old battery so I replaced. That did nothing. I will put what I have tried but please don't judge my lack of proper terminology. I can fix people a lot easier than machines.
Turning the ignition switch does nothing. With the switch on, I "closed" solenoid with screwdriver and the motor will turn but will not crank. Took plug wire loose and checked for arc. Plug wire is getting fire. I replaced ignition switch with new one. I have checked switch plugs on seat switch and blade engage lever and parking brake. There is no tension on the cable that engages the blade. I read that there was a fuse on the small red wire between the solenoid and the switch or either over the back right wheel near the battery. I found both wires but did not find a fuse...there was a place where 2 wires joined on both of them but no fuse there. It seems odd that simply dropping the deck off would create this kind of problem. I am desperate for help. I push mowed 2 acres this past weekend. Cannot handle that again and really want to get a few more years out of this mower. It seems like it should be a simple thing.

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
OK Ern.
We need a lot more information in order to give you good information.
Start with the make model & serial number of your mower off the tag under the seat
It will help both you & us if you go to the Ariens / Gravely web site and download the parts book for your mower
Thus we will all be singing from the same song sheet.
Remember you have the mower in front of you & we have nothing but words on a screen.