Craftman/ sears lawnmower repair

brian.moon

Forum Newbie
Threads
I'm looking to start a Small Engine repair shop. I am a firefighter, I work every three days and would like to start a repair business for my days off. My question is, can I become a Sears/ Craftsman repair technician? If so, what are the steps? I think I just want to focus on homeowner equipment, any suggestions on how to start. Do I need to become certified through Briggs and Stratton, Kohler, Kawasaki ...........

ILENGINE

Lawn Pro
Threads
Craftsmans will require you to be factory certified in both MTD and Husqvarna ride-on and handheld. MTD prerequisite requirements for service center authorization are certification in Briggs, Kohler, Honda, and Hydrogear.

brian.moon

Forum Newbie
Threads
Thank You for your response. Is it worth becoming MTD Factory certified and also certified through Husqvarna? or do you recommend a different path? I worked as a technician for a Walker Mower Distributor for three yrs and have been doing lawnmower/ small engine repairs for friends and family for many years , and just want to know what the best direction would be for me.

ILENGINE

Lawn Pro
Threads
Briggs will require a 4 1/2 day factory school plus $3-5 thousand in tools and inventory including 3 engines. Kohler will require a 4 1/2 day school plus $3-4 thousand in tools and inventory including 1 engine Honda doesn't have a required part inventory but does require 3 engines in inventory. Hydrogear doesn't have a stocking requirement. then MTD depending on distributor may require a $2500 inventory.

The Husqvarna side is actually Husqvarna consumer products which is Poulan/Poulan Pro No stocking requirement as of right now, but there has been talk of requiring service centers to become stocking dealers, which included tillers, riders, push mowers, blowers and chainsaw. Full Husqvarna dealership would require a $50-75 thousand dollar inventory.

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads