CV 740 kohler engine want start after we replaced short block

DTanner0512

Forum Newbie
Threads
  • / CV 740 kohler engine want start after we replaced short block
We bought a short block for mower put the heads on it I tried cam both ways because it wouldn't crank so I thought it was out of time so I took motor out open it up timed it by the marks but I'm blowing out of intake and sucking out of exhaust what's wrong? I've been a mechanic for 30 years and have done all my small engine repair but I'm confused please help

Last edited:

reynoldston

Lawn Pro
Threads
We bought a short block for mower put the heads on it I tried cam both ways because it wouldn't crank so I thought it was out of time so I took motor out open it up timed it by the marks but I'm blowing out of intake and sucking out of exhaust what's wrong? I've been a mechanic for 30 years and have done all my small engine repair but I'm confused please help

You got me confused. Doesn't a short block come with a camshaft, lifters, crankshaft, and complete heads?? What do you mean by trying the cam both ways? Yes I agree you install the camshaft by the timing marks on the crankshaft gear and camshaft gear by putting them together. Some engines with overhead camshafts use a timing chain but not on that engine. Did you use the old lifters? Because if you did you should bleed them down before installing them. Are you installing a engine block and or a short block?

DTanner0512

Forum Newbie
Threads
You got me confused. Doesn't a short block come with a camshaft, lifters, crankshaft, and complete heads?? What do you mean by trying the cam both ways? Yes I agree you install the camshaft by the timing marks on the crankshaft gear and camshaft gear by putting them together. Some engines with overhead camshafts use a timing chain but not on that engine. Did you use the old lifters? Because if you did you should bleed them down before installing them. Are you installing a engine block and or a short block?