1985~89 B&S Sno/Gard enigne questions

kenn_chan

Forum Newbie
Threads
Quick intro:

Former Marine living in Japan and working on the local navy base, this will answer a lot of questions you guys have :smile:

Currently I am building a log splitter with some plans I bought on line and the tools at my home shop. I have been a fabricator since I left the corps so I have plenty of experience except in one area....small engine repair. In HS I took the required (for Indiana) industrial arts classes which included a course on small engine repair...but that was 30 years ago.

here is my question: I got my hands on a B&S Snow/Gard 8hp engine from around (I think) the 1985-89 time frame, cannot find out much more info about it Model 190432 type 1003 01 code 8105211. it turns over by hand and has good compression, but it seems to have two issues, no spark and no fuel. Carb is a mess so I ordered a new one from amazon (actual B&S part not chinese knockoff).

now for the spark part. I checked the plug, GTG gap looks OK but I do not have specs to measure against. the flywheel had rust on it so I wire brushed the area around the magnet and the bottom of the coil magneto assembly and returned them to the same air gap as prior to removal.

I disassembled the pull start and after chasing the little ball bearings in the clutch system managed to get it off until only the part left was the aluminum portion that held the ball bearings.