Repairs fuel delivery problem?

mowerboy

Forum Newbie
Threads
I got a Craftsman (550 series Briggs and Stratton engine) push mower that hasn't been used in a few years. I changed the oil, air filter, and spark plug. At first I couldn't get it to start, but then I used a little starting fluid and got it going. Now I am having a strange problem. The mower keeps on stalling. I will run for may 30 seconds or so before it stalls. I discovered that if I hold the mower at a 45 degree angle to the left (gas tank above engine) then it will run without stalling. I can keep it running like that for a long time, but the minute that I lower it back flat on the ground, it stalls again. It seems to me to be some sort of fuel delivery problem, but I don't know where to start. I have never worked on mower engines before. Anyone have any ideas?

Thanks!

BKBrown

Lawn Addict
Threads
If it had not been run in quite a while, it probably has gunk in the Carb. - tilting it may allow the float to let some fuel past the main jet needle valve. If you know anything about it, depending on the mower, you can take the bowl off the carb and clean it out using spray carb cleaner - make sure to take out the main needle valve and clean the jet.

If you don't know enough or don't feel comfortable doing the above, Get some Seafoam or 2X Gumout and put it in the gas tank (correct mix strength) with fresh Gas - make it run for a while as you have stated. The cleaner in the gas may solve the problem.

mowerboy

Forum Newbie
Threads
If you don't know enough or don't feel comfortable doing the above, Get some Seafoam or 2X Gumout and put it in the gas tank (correct mix strength) with fresh Gas - make it run for a while as you have stated. The cleaner in the gas may solve the problem.

Thanks for the advice. I would probably try this before attempting to take apart the carburetor. Although I am pretty handy, I have never done something like that before.