Grass seed

Threads
We drove trucks around our backyard again while doing construction this fall, and now my yard is a mud pit. I'm going to buy a giant bag of grass seed as soon as the ground thaws. Does anyone have any tips as to how to help it grow quickly? My main concern is that I have 5 dogs who run around out there, and I guess I'm afraid the seeds won't take if they're trampled alot, but I have zero experience growing grass LOL

bt3

Threads
One of my homes had dense shade and big trees in the back yard that made it almost impossible to keep grass during the summer, so every spring I had to replant. Finally cut down all the trees and have an actual lawn for a change. It's not just the shade that kills grass, it's the large tree's root network sucking all the moisture and nutrients out of the soil so the grass struggles and finally dies. Especially if you have a dry summer.

I'm not a guru, but my experience is that you need decent top soil, or at least loose soil that grass can grow in. Rake it and then spread the seed. Rake it again covering the seed slightly. Some people drop Straw on it to protect the seeds and keep in moisture but I have never done that. I just raked. It needs to be kept moist for a week or two until it sprouts and grows to about an inch, then you can cut back on the water a bit. Try and avoid puddling as that will ruin the areas that get the puddles. Hopefully you don't have flocks of birds that will scratch for the seeds.

I have had great success with "Miracle Grow" Spray for lawns. This gives the seedlings a good shot of the proper nitrogen to get them going. You just buy the spray bottle and dump in the blue granules of lawn food. Attach to a hose and spray away.