Reviving an old 6302

d_sharier

Threads
I am new to the "forum" game, so this is my first actual "thread". I am not new to Lawn-Boys though. I caught that bug a few years ago. I have bought and sold more than I could begin to count. I have been repairing small engines for a few years now. I did the Briggs school and got my MST cert. I have tried to keep one restoration going in my "down time" because I really enjoy doing so. I picked up a 1984, 6302 that was in rough cosmetic condition. I decided to give it a little love before selling it. I thought this would be a good mower to start my first thread with. I will post a few pictures now and ad some more in the next few days.

View attachment 24166View attachment 24178View attachment 24167View attachment 24179View attachment 24180

Phototone

Threads
Now yer talking. This is what I love doing too!! Would be interesting for you to comment on just what techniques you use to clean all the bare metal parts (those that won't be painted), such as the wheel adjusters, the engine cylinder fins, etc. I use a wire wheel on a grinder for a lot, have yet to figure out a way to clean the cylinder cooling fins satisfactorily.

d_sharier

Threads
Now yer talking. This is what I love doing too!! Would be interesting for you to comment on just what techniques you use to clean all the bare metal parts (those that won't be painted), such as the wheel adjusters, the engine cylinder fins, etc. I use a wire wheel on a grinder for a lot, have yet to figure out a way to clean the cylinder cooling fins satisfactorily.