MZT52 - how to remove oil drain plug cap?

Pondbound

Threads
Hi all,

I may be crazy, but today I tried to change the oil for first time on MZT52 and I can't figure out how to remove the drain cap! (I'm at 12 hours run time doh...adds up fast...book says change at 8. Hopefully extra four hours won't hurt anything). So the mower has the little hose thing that hangs off the end. There are two points on this that look like hex points for 11/16" wrench (that fit them anyway). From what it looked like, the one farther back is the cap and should twist off. Well I torqued the hell out of it and nothing happened. It acts like one piece. Is this the right way to remove the cap?

Here is how it looks:

g4Fphc9.jpg

and here is how I was trying to remove it:

hKHvxqx.png

Is this the right way? Maybe it's just super tight from factory. I was scared to hulk mode it as it looks like one piece. Can somebody post a pic with cap removed so I can see how it looks?

Sorry I am still learning this!

oleblu72

Threads
The two hex heads you have outlined that's where you put your wrench's if you have ever taken apart a airline or a hydraulic line you would do it the same way. You would position your wrench's so the wrench that is on the plug ( outside hex ) is slightly counter clockwise to the inside wrench you then squeeze the two wrench's with your strongest hand ( kind of like a vise ) and the plug should turn. The drain hose is in a awkward spot Husky needs to rethink their design here these plugs can be a little difficult at times plus a remote oil filter would be nice, good luck.

Mark

Pondbound

Threads
Can a fellow mtz52 owner confirm they have same looking drain plug and possibly post a pic of what it looks like with the cap off?

SeniorCitizen

Lawn Addict
Threads
(I'm at 12 hours run time doh...adds up fast...book says change at 8. Hopefully extra four hours won't hurt anything).

Don't panic. That oil from the factory doesn't contain a poison or have a virus.

oleblu72