Repairs Electrical problem

dennyandcarrie

Forum Newbie
Threads
My church has a Grasshopper 721D that we are continuing to have trouble with. Here is what it is doing right now. The only way we can get it to start is to heat the glow plugs then turn the key to the run position and then use a screwdriver to jump the starter over. When you try to turn the key all the way to start nothing happens. Once we have jumped the starter over with the screwdriver the mower will run perfectly. We have replaced the starter twice, all fuses are good, new brake switch. Also at this point we have bypassed the seat switch because as soon as you open the arms to get off of the mower it will stall. This happens even if the brake is on. I am just beginning to learn about these grasshopper mowers so let me know what other info you need to help me get this resolved.

Thanks so much for you help.

BlazNT

Lawn Pro
Threads
Have you tested the key start switch? It sounds like its bad.

bobbysr

Threads
Sometimes a bad PTO switch will make the mower hard to start.

dennyandcarrie

Forum Newbie
Threads
Sometimes a bad PTO switch will make the mower hard to start.