FR500 Honda tiller (5.5hp?) spitting up oil from oil bath air filter

westsail434

Forum Newbie
Threads
  • / FR500 Honda tiller (5.5hp?) spitting up oil from oil bath air filter
Newbie here in the forum. Thanks for entry. I need help with a Honda FR 500 garden tiller that all the sudden starting spitting oil from the oil bath filled air filter housing after running just 3-4 minutes. Unit was running fine for several hours after I purchased used. I changed crankcase oil and was extremely careful not to overfill. I installed a new air filter and followed manual instructions carefully on amount of oil to install in bottom of air filter housing. Unit still ran fine another 5-10 hours then all the sudden, like immediately, I noticed oil splashing out of the air filter housing. I think it was coming from the overflow? Or crankcase vent tube. There is a rubber tube that runs from the air filter housing down to the crankcase, like a PVC valve type hose without a valve. I THINK this is where it is coming from, at the top of the hose at the air housing. I double checked the amount of oil in the bath and it is at the proper level. The crankcase oil is at the proper level as well. It's almost like the motor jumped time or something and there is compression from within the crankcase at the wrong time and therefore back feeding up and causing it to leak, spew rather. There is the possibility I operated it a too much of an angle, but if that's the case it wasn't for long and jeez, it IS a tiller. it all started after I had trouble hitting a root, rock or treasure chest, HA. but it was shortly after that this started and it's not like I turned it upside down or laid it flat, just had to move and do what I had to do to get it un hung from whatever it was. The only other thing I did do was dropped the carb bowl to check for gunk and there was a little but not much. I DID remove the needle valve and inspected it and replaced with a new one, as well as a bowl gasket. The float assembl