Do you have to be a mechanic to own small engines?

MarkF786

Forum Newbie
Threads
  • / Do you have to be a mechanic to own small engines?
I'm fairly new to owning a "single family" house, having lived in a townhouse/condo before. With the house comes maintenance and all the gear - and my luck hasn't been the best. It seems small engine devices nowadays (mowers, blower, snow throwers) die quickly and frequently. Maybe it's the gas nowadays, maybe I don't know WTF I'm doing. For example:

- I bought a quality ($200) Husqvarna leaf blower and used it one day in the fall. The next fall came and the thing wouldn't start. It turned out the gas lines had rotted due to leaving gas in it. I then spent a day replacing gas lines.

- I bought a quality ($600) Craftsman snow blower. The first winter, it sat with gas in it but no snow came. I drained the gas. The second winter, it sat again with gas it and I used it one day - and the whole time the engine was 'hunting', revving up and down. I drained the gas. Today, I did maintenance on it, changed the oil, changed the plug, lubed various parts, etc. And the damn engine is still hunting. I guess the carb has gone bad, or maybe just needs a clean, but it's buried deep in the engine so after a day of maintenance, there's not time to fix it today.

It makes me wonder, are small engines built like crap nowadays? Or is the gas so bad that it kills an engine anytime you leave some in it? I started looking for a local small engine maintenance course to help me understand what I need to do to care for these things. I'm scared to buy additional small engine gear (like a lawn mower) because it might break down constantly.