Should I be concerned? My new Honda backfired then wouldn't start

joe_sun

Forum Newbie
Threads
  • / Should I be concerned? My new Honda backfired then wouldn't start
Hello all, this may be a total newbie thing but I have no clue. This is my first mower so cut me some slack.

I have a 4 week old HRR216VKA which I love to death. It's fired up on the first pull every single time and cuts my lawn like a champ.

Today I started to mow and after about 45 seconds of the engine running my son came running out of the house yelling something at me so I turn off the mower to listen, I was talking to him for maybe a minute and then went back and tried to start my Honda again. Immediately after pulling the cord there was a big backfire and the mower didn't start. I didn't quite know what to do so I pulled the cord again and the motor kinda started. It was really quiet and going really slow sorta doing a

puuuhh---------puuuhh----------puuuhh

So I stopped it again, let it sit for a little bit and tried to start it again. Same thing.. really slow and quiet

So now I'm thinking it's broken but I'll give it one more try. I pull the cord and it starts off really slow and then quite a bit of smoke starts to come out of the exhaust and the more smoke that comes out the better it's running until eventually it's back up to speed. So I go ahead and mow the entire lawn and afterwards I'm able to stop and start it again no problem.

So what's going on? Did it get flooded? Should I worry, not worry?

Thanks in advance

Jon

EngineMan

Lawn Addict
Threads