Who would like to go through it with a noob?

Threads
As the title says I am a noob and I have been obsessed with wanting to tinker with an engine. I have always wanted to do something mechanical and I have a perfect opportunity.

My old John Deere lawn mower was/is my most favorite mower I have ever earned. However about three years ago it just stopped working, and now three years later I want to give a shot at fixing it up. As far as I remember the rip cord got hard to pull (I think) my arm was probably just getting tired from trying to start it so many times. However I remember my friend coming over and sucking out a fuel line.....or the tube that was hanging from it. We got it to start for like two seconds and die. Who would like to tell me what to check/do first? I will include pictures maybe even video on my journey to fixing my first mower. :) so who would like to give it a shot with me?

Here it is right now.

Attachments

• IMAG0138.jpg
    IMAG0138.jpg
    122.4 KB · Views: 34
Threads
Clean out the fuel tank, and lines then sand the flywheel, coil, change the plug, and change the oil. If it has alot of hrs on it then an overhaul might be the way to go.

Threads
Ok, its late today so I will try to get a start on it tomorrow. Of the list you gave me which would you say is the most simple and easy to do thing atm?

Also thank you for the reply.

(also, I'm pretty sure it has a lot of hours on it)

Threads
Ok, its late today so I will try to get a start on it tomorrow. Of the list you gave me which would you say is the most simple and easy to do thing atm?

Also thank you for the reply.

(also, I'm pretty sure it has a lot of hours on it)

You might do a compression test first if you dont have a guage your local parts store should have one to use, or buy. Post the engine #s on here when you get time, and it will give everyone something to go on. It will help with info on rebuild kits, etc.

Threads
A Compression test, alright I will try to get one ordered.