Snapper push mower--repair or replace?

ctm25

Threads
Looking for some advice here:
I have about a 6 1/2 year old snapper self propelled push mower with a Briggs 125k02 0141 engine. I've done some work on it myself, including replacing the carburetor, but the mower starts after about 10 pulls. I've replaced the primer bulb, but it doesn't seem to pull any fuel for some reason.

In addition, the mower doesn't seem to burn fuel that cleanly--perhaps I need to clean the cylinder head?

Just based on the cost of professional repairs, I was wondering whether it might makes sense to simply replace the engine with maybe a ohv engine, assuming I could get a new engine for under $200? I have no experience doing so, but I'm guessing I could do this in a couple of hours? Would this be a sensible thing to do given the age of the mower (the drive system and deck work fine)? If you guys think an engine replacement makes sense, what brand/size would you recommend? Honda? 160 or 190?

Alternatively, I could buy a new one (I'm not sure whether I could sell or trade mine for much), or spend the money getting it serviced at a local shop (but I'm hesitant to spend over $100 bucks or more on this).

Thanks and any thoughts are appreciated.

CTM

Last edited:
Threads
Both things are good ideas. If you like that mower and think you can get an engine for less than a mower, go ahead and replace the engine. But if you have the money and want to jump at the chance to buy a new mower, you could do that also.

ctm25

Threads
How challenging would a replacement be---would I be in over my head as a first timer?

And how long might I expect the rest of the mower (the deck, transmission) to last?

Thanks for the advice.

Another issue is I like to mow fast, but notice sometimes I miss blades of grass when doing so. Would a better engine help? Also, would I find a noticeable improvement in smoothness of the engine, as well as less emissions, with something like a honda ohv?

Threads