Time to dig trench

Hoss

Threads
I have 100', 50', 45' and 85' of trenching to do for some downspout drainage. It's an easy straight shot with no obstacles. Any idea on how much time it would take just to trench? This is my first time trenching, so I'm not too familiar with the time it would take.

rmancini

Threads
Are you talking about by hand?
I'd sure be thinking about renting a "Ditch Witch".
Here, they are $150 / day plus $25 delivery/pick-up charge.
Sure beats busting your a#$.
Rich

173abn

Threads
Hoss, I hand dug a water line a couple yrs. back going into my greenhouse that was 50 ft long and 7ft. deep .It was that deep because I was going into a basement under my greenhouse.It took me the better part of a summer to do because I went through a lot of rock.I don't think I would do it again by hand,getting too old for that kinda work.What kind of soil do you have?I would think as Rich stated a DitchWitch would be the way to go. russ

KennyV

Lawn Pro
Threads
Hoss, I hand dug a water line ... 50 ft long and 7ft. deep ... took me the better part of a summer... went through a lot of rock. I don't think I would do it again by hand,getting too old for that kinda work.

WOW russ that makes me ache just thinking about it....
It's a lot of work using a back hoe going that deep.

With almost 300 feet , I agree... "I'd sure be thinking about renting a Ditch Witch"...
:smile:KennyV

ted

Threads
Ack! by hand? That would be nuts at any level. I leave the digging by paw to my dog, there is no way I am young enough for that anymore. I need some help I guess, getting up there in age and all.

RobertBrown

Lawn Addict
Threads
Any idea on how much time it would take just to trench? This is my first time trenching, so I'm not too familiar with the time it would take.

Look around and tell me if you see a lot of rocks. Rocks make a big difference in digging time. Where I live there are very few, I have no idea about Nevada.