Vanguard 23hp dead

TobyU

Threads
I’m gave up on this project and took it to a mechanic friend last week. He noticed that the entire flywheel seemed to be magnetized. I checked on another mower engine and that’s obviously not the case. Is that normal for the B&s vanguard engine? What would cause that to happen? Should I get a new flywheel?
No! It sounds like this guy is a car mechanic friend and not a lawn mower tech.
Unfortunately auto mechanics often do a lot more harm than good on the small engines because they're simply too different.
While I have heard of some odd things happening to the magnets on a flywheel that wasn't physical damage, because that's far more likely than anything else, from reverse polarization to demagnetization or weird things like that, I have NEVER seen one of these things happen for myself so I really don't believe most of the stories I've heard!
I have been running a shop commercially for 14 years now and have seen thousands upon thousands of mowers and these small engines.
While lots of things are possible.. most of these weird things are not very probable or likely at all.
And 99.8 or maybe more like 99.3% of the times, it will be something else rather than some crazy thing that it might be.
Most of the time if you start with the basic troubleshooting procedure, and if that's a good one because many people don't do it well or do it in a lousy order etc, you will rule out many other potential problems as you go and along the path quite quickly diagnose what the problem is.

In this situation, anytime you have concern about ignition, which should be the second thing you do and not the first... it's usually enough just to pull out the spark plug or two when it's a twin, and stick them back in the wires and ground the base of them to the block and crank it over to see if there's consistent spark going spark spark spark spark spark spark.