V-Twin 26HP engine blowing oil at parting line of crankcase

fairlaniac

Threads
  • / V-Twin 26HP engine blowing oil at parting line of crankcase
It looks like the V-twin on my Husquvarna is spraying oil. I'll assume by the location and what I see the crankcase gasket has given way? While I pull the bottom off the engine to replace the gasket, what else should I replace while in there? Are there any exploded views with BOM availble?

Thanks,

Bertrrr

Threads
Unless you find something very obvious just install an new gasket and keep right on mowing

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
It looks like the V-twin on my Husquvarna is spraying oil. I'll assume by the location and what I see the crankcase gasket has given way? While I pull the bottom off the engine to replace the gasket, what else should I replace while in there? Are there any exploded views with BOM availble?

Thanks,
The oil seal as you will damage it removing the sump

TiIngot

Threads
I'm new to this so I hope others don't mind me asking a question. I just do not know why a crankcase gasket would just fail on its own. Crank shaft oil seals failing yes. But, the case gasket is a non-moving, no friction part. Other parts in that area that I have found the source of leaks are an oil filter loose and I have found two oil drain nipples loose too.

With no pressure in the crankcase and no moving parts, are you sure that is the source of your leak?

StarTech

Lawn Royalty
Top Poster Of Month
Threads
They do fail. I had engine here in the shop the gasket looked like swiss cheese or expanded steel. Replaced it with the Briggs gasket and it illiterately blew out in two passes on the customer yard and this was with the 27 ft/lbs of torque on the new screws.