Toro Zmaster557 Kohler Command No power Cylinder temp high

KnuckleBuster

Forum Newbie
Threads
  • / Toro Zmaster557 Kohler Command No power Cylinder temp high
Hey Guys
I came here for help. I am a auto mechanic and thought this would be a fairly easy adventure and I couldn't have been further from the truth.

I bought this mower and ran it hard for several weeks and it ran flawlessly. One day I shut it down and it backfired. I began inspection and found a bent push rod. I did disassemble it down but stopped short of pulling crank. After assembly it fired up on first turn and all seemed good. But with Blades running it had no power. when I went to examine I found the right cylinder was much hotter to the touch. I confirmed with a laser temp meter and the left side was running at the cylinder at 159 degrees the right side was running over 600 degrees. It has 150 pounds compression in both cylinders and seems to turn freely

I did not break it down again for inspection because my storage is small and I can't move it around if it is not running. I am thinking lubrication problem but not sure if I should rebuild it or just replace the engine. Any suggestion would be appreciated.

KnuckleBuster

Forum Newbie
Threads
32 Views and no one wants to touch this?
I was thinking about this last night and wondering if the the muffler which i know is burnt out and possibly modified is feeding exhaust directly to the opposite cylinder? There are a bunch of welds on the muffler like it was cut open and it was as loud as hell when I bought it but it ran good.....HELP!

Briggs92

Threads
Most likely the cold cylinder has a dead coil. Disconnect the ground wire on the coil and check for spark. If there isn't the coil is bad if there is there is a fault in the wiring up to the kill switch it the switch itself.

KnuckleBuster

Forum Newbie
Threads
Thanks! I will check on this. Any idea what the temp should be on a normal running cylinder?