Snakes

SeniorCitizen

Lawn Addict
Threads
1710565780146.jpeg
Not only electrical , it could be wise in some areas to be careful around machinery and equipment .
My HVAC man sent this pic to me of a rattle snake in a unit . Why in there ? Most likely looking for mice .

StarTech

Lawn Royalty
Top Poster Of Month
Threads
I done ran into two luckily non poisonous snakes working mowers in the last 16 yrs. Both had me scared. The first one was in the operator tower and I knew as soon as I touched it what it was was. The second one I touched but it came out and went up my pants leg. I came out of the pants quickly and was lucky that put a pair of briefs that morning. That one nearly caused a heart attack. At least I saw some it as it entered my pant's leg so knew it was non poisonous but still scared the heck out me.

So yes we got to look good before reaching into places that these critters can get it and hide.

GearHead36

Threads
I'm not a professional. I only work on my own equipment, so I don't have near the opportunity to encounter surprises that you guys do, but I DO hate snakes. I also have a barn cat. I don't really expect him to kill snakes, but he SHOULD kill everything a snake would want to eat. He's quite the hunter. In fact, he was my daughter's cat, but she couldn't keep him (apartment), and a friend who was keeping him didn't like that he was killing everything in sight. Just what I wanted, though. Even though I don't expect him to kill snakes, he killed one this week. It was non-venomous, but that's ok. I have Fluffy (not his name) for pest control. If I had a small engine shop, I'd seriously consider having a shop cat. It would keep the mice out of the equipment too.

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Trick with barn ( shed ) cats is only feed them in the morning so they are hungry all night
I have black, brown, tiger & whip snakes here, all venomous